McGOVERN’S 20-20 HINDSIGHT


George McGovern, the one-time Senator and Presidential candidate, wrote an interesting article in the Inc. business magazine.  He titled it What I Know Now: Nibbled to Death, and he describes the woes he experienced when starting and running a business.  In his own words, it was “…enough, as I’ve learned, to make me wish I had known more firsthand about the concerns and problems of American businesspeople while I was a U.S. senator and later a presidential nominee. That knowledge would have made me a better legislator and a more worthy aspirant to the White House.”

It’s a good and perceptive article.  I must admit that seeing an old dyed-in-the-wool leftist eat so much crow caused quite a bit of schadenfreude well up in my chest.  Knowledge and experience are indeed indispensable assets that serve best when obtained prior to any undertaking, be it business or policy; and I am glad that Mr. McGovern knows this now.

But I am afflicted with a pretty long memory, and I therefore find myself wondering how things would be today had the then-Senator McGovern taken the trouble to obtain some knowledge of, and experience with, communism prior to committing himself to the so-called antiwar stance and contributing so significantly to policies that all but guaranteed the collapse of South Vietnam.  How would that country be faring today?  And how many hundreds of thousands of those murdered by the invaders would still be alive?

All the necessary information was freely available, had Senator McGovern only taken the trouble to find it.  One wonders, sadly, how he feels about that one.  Perhaps, before he dies, he will realize what crime against humanity he’d had a hand in.

About Michael J. Kubat

I'm a grumpy Czech-born clinical social worker who is vitally interested in the survival in the United States as a viable democracy and a beacon of hope for the rest of the world.
This entry was posted in communism, dictatorship, strategy, USA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

