FIDELIO


I’m in the mood for opera these days, and have been replaying all the old favorites. Here’s one of them: Beethoven‘s one and only opera, which some folks call flawed as operas go and others refer to as his “best symphony.” Not being a musician, I can’t comment on that, but I will say this.  Fidelio is a story of freedom and redemption, justice delayed but finally delivered, and the power of true love, all to the sound of (to me) the greatest dramatic and inspirational musician ever. The story, the music and the singing strike deep. The prisoners’ chorus, O welche Lust (Oh what joy) in Act I never fails to bring tears to my eyes.

This is my favorite recording, with Gabriela Beňačková as Fidelio/Leonora, Josef Protschka as Florestan, and the rest, all fantabulous.

About Michael J. Kubat

I'm a grumpy Czech-born clinical social worker who is vitally interested in the survival in the United States as a viable democracy and a beacon of hope for the rest of the world.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

