9-11 COMMEMORATIVE EVENTS


I was at this very desk, at the computer, when my daughter’s friend Matt called.  “Mr. Kubat,” he said simply, “turn on the TV.  A plane just hit the World Trade Center.”  I turned on the TV, and watched.  For a second it felt like a bad movie, but then I saw a flash of movement that turned out to be the second plane, and it was reality.  Detached reality, disembodied reality as only TV can make it, but reality nonetheless.

Today, in watching the 9-11 memorial ceremonies, the reading of the names, the moments of silence, people taking rubbings of the engraved names, the soft yet insistent music in the background, I am struck by the power and solemnity of the occasion.  President George W. Bush, reading the famous Lincoln letter to the mother who had lost five sons in the Civil War, struck the right tone.  He didn’t talk about himself, he simply introduced and read the letter.  All my differences with him aside, I thought it was wonderful to hear his voice.

This is real America’s time.

I know that Obama is planning to visit all 9-11 sites, but I hope that he will keep his mouth respectfully shut.  I’m simply not ready for more sophomoric lecturing, nor do I wish to hear how 9-11 must be perverted into a national “day of service.”

Not today, please.

About Michael J. Kubat

I'm a grumpy Czech-born clinical social worker who is vitally interested in the survival in the United States as a viable democracy and a beacon of hope for the rest of the world.
This entry was posted in false messiah, Obama, USA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 9-11 COMMEMORATIVE EVENTS

  1. Agreed; still, it’s an improvement on “mandatory volunteerism.” The man is a mealy-mouthed liar, and the only reason to listen to him is so as to be prepared for the next assault on our rights and liberties.
    Ian

Leave a Reply

